KNocking sound! Clip Included!

Have a flashing light? Gauges acting funny? Bad idle? Get your problems solved...
jene

Post by jene »

Ok.. so that knocking is still annoying me. So I finally made a clip for ya to hear. Turn the volume up and watch the whole clip!!   You can clearly hear it and whne i pop the hood it is louder and when i zoom inot the valve cover.. it kinda looks like it it going with the rockers... but i am no expert and i sounds like poop!!  It use to go away after about 5 minsute of driving.. but now it seems to stay longer, but after the first 5 mins it get quieter?? Im not totally sure about that though... i need to pay attention..

what i do know is when i used regualy 5 30 oil..it didnt seem to do this.. but over the last year tires plus has been doing an oil change and using semi synthetic and it seems to be doing this more... not sure if that has anything to do with it or now..

any ideas.. should i just not worry? is it the regular 60 degree knock i am hearing??

I should add it has been doing this for almost a year now...not anything new

Engine Knock

SuzukiGhostRider

Post by SuzukiGhostRider »

It sounds like a noisy valve train,but then again there also appears to be a heavier knocking that sounds like it's coming from the bottom end. This is one of those things that's really hard to diagnose w/o being physically present with the car...... Sorry I can't be more helpful than that Jene.

jene

Post by jene »

To mee it seems to get louder when i uncap the valve cover.. but like i said.. im not expert.

I have been driving like this for  a year.. racing like this for a year...  I just want to be well prepaired if the engine is going to go so i can have another 3400 and swap time lined up so i dont miss any racing...

Plus scott says it is the normal 60 degrees knock.. i just want to be sure of this...