3800 S.C Beretta swap

Want to know how to get more out of your Beretta? Or have a mod you would like to share?
KingBroil

3800 S.C Beretta swap

Post by KingBroil »

Hi all,
As requested, I will use this topic to share information on a 3800 S.C swap in a Beretta Z-26 1955 (L-Body I think?)
First of all, I'm not a professionnal mechanic. I have done my share of mechanical work, and even dismanteled my original 3100 engine all the way to the lifters and back together, only to find that I had a weird plastic rack left at the end that I didn't know where it it was supposed to go. I soon found that it was that piece that keep the lifters alligned.... yeah, I had to do it all again %) So most of the mechanical knoledge I have, I learned the hard way. Just be patient if I don't explain things right the first time. Also, I am french speaking so my english is not the best.....I know!, I know!, all this doesn't leaves me a lot of qualities :no:

As I said in another topic, I am away from home for work. I don't have a lot of time to spare and I do not have the car with me. That means that I cannot post pictures or look at things on the car for another 2 weeks. Meanwhile, I can start explaining \introducing the swaping.

Be aware that I didn't perform the swap myself. It is a mechanic from Thetford Mines, Canada that did it, but I am well aware of how he did it and what are the major problems that he encountered. Overall, the project turned out to be a lot easier than we first thought. Now the car is running w\o major issues and a LOT of power for a Beretta! All I can say is that those Mustangs do not shrink in my front view anymore 8)

I'll try to add a new post every night, see yall!

heavywoody
Global Moderator

Re: 3800 S.C Beretta swap

Post by heavywoody »

Interesting to hear; way back in the day on the old BNet, there was information for a place in Canada that swapped 3800SC engines into our cars. I wonder if there is any correlation.