Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Want to know how to get more out of your Beretta? Or have a mod you would like to share?
User avatar
woody90gtz
Registered User
Posts: 4043
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 8:45 pm
Location: Walton, NY
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby woody90gtz » Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:18 pm

Time for a how-to thread on this subject. I have some good links to point you in the right direction. My experience is with the v6 7730/$A1 and an AutoProm, but there are lots of ways to do it.

Gearhead-Efi.com is a good source of knowledge on GM OBD1 tuning for the DIY'er. This is the link for their information on 7730/$A1:
http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inject ... rmation-A1

V6Z24.com also has a lot of information specific to the FWDs that can be viewed here:
http://www.v6z24.com/jbodyforum/getting ... 73503.html
http://www.v6z24.com/jbodyforum/tuning-faq-t102758.html

TO DATA LOG:
All you need to buy is a cable - that's it! The cable plugs in to your OBD1 port under the dash and transmits the ALDL stream to your laptop. Here is the cheapest cable I know of, and it helps support gearhead-efi.com:
http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inject ... LDL-Cables
Edit: if they are unavailable from there, they are also sold at http://www.aldlcable.com/

You need software and the proper definition to receive and translate the ALDL stream, both are free. TunerPro RT is online for you to download, and the definitions can be grabbed at either gearhead or z24 in the links above.
http://www.tunerpro.net/downloadApp.htm

TO TUNE:
To tune you will also need chips and a burner on the hardware side. I use an AutoProm from Moates, but you could also use a Burn1 or other cheaper alternatives. An AutoProm is nice because it will read, burn and emulate BIN files. You can also use it to datalog, negating the need for a separate ALDL cable.
http://www.moates.net/gm-19851995-c-64.html
http://www.moates.net/c2-sst-27sf512-ch ... l?cPath=26

On the software side you will need the BIN you are running and its definition - the XDF. These are available at gearhead or z24. Once you load the BIN and XDF in TunerPro it is pretty self-explanatory. After you have made the changes you want, you burn the BIN to a new chip and install it in your ECM.

Any other questions just ask and I will update this post.
Last edited by woody90gtz on Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Image
91 "SS" 3400/5spd - EP, FFP, TCE, SPEC, DSS, S&S, OBD1, 13s? GEARHEAD dezign

DOHC_tuner
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:39 pm

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby DOHC_tuner » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:31 pm

Ive been waiting for something like this for a long time. Time to work this into a Quad 4 mind set.



User avatar
weba
Registered User
Posts: 1073
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 5:34 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland.
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby weba » Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:13 pm

I have multiple files for Quads plus ALDL stream files that I changed to use real units (Km/h, Celsius) if any of you Europeans need them. Those for 3.1MPFI and Quad, and 1993 ABS computer.

I only recommed the Autoprom, so much easier. Also ZIF socket to ECM if you plan to swap chips anytime soon.


Slightly offtopic, but has anyone ever seen Airbag computer datastream file? :( I'd like to know what's throwing on the light....



User avatar
woody90gtz
Registered User
Posts: 4043
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 8:45 pm
Location: Walton, NY
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby woody90gtz » Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:28 pm

Is there a separate datastream for the airbag stuff?


Image
91 "SS" 3400/5spd - EP, FFP, TCE, SPEC, DSS, S&S, OBD1, 13s? GEARHEAD dezign

DOHC_tuner
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:39 pm

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby DOHC_tuner » Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:41 pm

I skimmed through the thread from your link for datalogging. So does he still make that cable? The thread seems as if people are backing out because he does not have a supplier for the parts. Is it needed to tune as well along with the moates unit? Or can i bypass that home-made cable if im not looking to just data logg but tune as well.



User avatar
woody90gtz
Registered User
Posts: 4043
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 8:45 pm
Location: Walton, NY
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby woody90gtz » Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:57 pm

You dont need the cable if you have an AutoProm. I actually have both because I bought the cable first. And I actually bought mine through http://www.aldlcable.com/ before Robert was offering them. I'll revise the main post.


Image
91 "SS" 3400/5spd - EP, FFP, TCE, SPEC, DSS, S&S, OBD1, 13s? GEARHEAD dezign

speedy
Registered User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:10 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby speedy » Thu Aug 29, 2013 11:22 pm

is there any gain to this on my gtz? i have a stock set up with a w41 chip, pnp head and eventually ported exhaust mani and intake mani with a bigger tb. but would me buying the cable, downloading the program, and hooking it up give me any gains? and what is the advantage if so, im very new to this so if this question sounds dumb, well, i totally understand, haha


1991 beretta GTZ- 2.3l w41 cams, ported 086 head with a 3 angle valve job, fidanza flywheel with exedy racing clutch, 3.94fdr from and scx, so much more..

User avatar
weba
Registered User
Posts: 1073
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 5:34 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland.
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby weba » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:54 am

Even if you would not tune it,

Troubleshooting!
I can't even think about doing anything with these cars without ability to read what ECM knows from computer screen @ real time.. any other way is just guessing.

Woody, yes there are separate datastreams for each computer, ECM, ABS and Airbag, never found the file for last one :(



User avatar
woody90gtz
Registered User
Posts: 4043
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 8:45 pm
Location: Walton, NY
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby woody90gtz » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:00 am

Datalogging itself is just for diagnostics. It lets you monitor exactly what the computer is seeing from its sensors and how it is responding to it.

Your setup is probably close enough to stock the o2 may correct the calibration pretty well on its own, but with any cam change it is probably a good idea to dial it in...but a W41 chip with a W41 cam should be pretty damn close. But if you datalog and see that the BLM and INT are swinging around then your VE table should get fixed by burning a new chip. And you can do some other things really easily like deleting EGR, raising the governor, etc.


Image
91 "SS" 3400/5spd - EP, FFP, TCE, SPEC, DSS, S&S, OBD1, 13s? GEARHEAD dezign

User avatar
woody90gtz
Registered User
Posts: 4043
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 8:45 pm
Location: Walton, NY
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby woody90gtz » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:02 am

Interesting weba, are they all reported through the ALDL pot under the dash?

Speedy, even when my truck was stock...datalogging proved invaluable. It was the only way I found out what my dumbass 4L60E was doing.


Image
91 "SS" 3400/5spd - EP, FFP, TCE, SPEC, DSS, S&S, OBD1, 13s? GEARHEAD dezign

RobertISaar
Registered User
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:14 pm

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby RobertISaar » Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:59 pm

92-93 airbag = A125
93-94 airbag = A242

i've built the A125 definition before, but i never bothered with A242 apparently, it's not in my archive.



User avatar
weba
Registered User
Posts: 1073
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 5:34 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland.
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby weba » Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:01 am

Woody, yes

RobertISaar, do you have the A125 in hand?



RobertISaar
Registered User
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:14 pm

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby RobertISaar » Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:00 am

ADS and if necessary ADX version is good to go.



User avatar
zcylex
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:31 am

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby zcylex » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:19 am

Theres a tutorial on gearhead-efi on how to do the cable yourself with an arduino FT232RL then you just need to coonect TX+RX on pin M (for 8192 baud) and it should work, however i have not found any definitions for my 1988 beretta gt with LB6 and 1227730 ECM(ARCL) only a few ads files on the tuner pro website but nothing concrete for my car, i allready ordered the arduino chip as its going to help me in other project(not car related)

Any help on getting the definition xdf and bins for my car/ECM? (Dont want to tune, just datalog)

Thanks in advance

PS:i read that my mask is supposed to be $46 but i can't find it anywere(unless you count the 20$ tunercats as for them definitions)


1988 Beretta GT 2.8L V6 - Yeah my Retta is a year older than me! :)
Work in Progress

RobertISaar
Registered User
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:14 pm

Re: Datalogging and/or tuning your OBD1 Beretta

Postby RobertISaar » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:52 am

if you're looking to datalog only, the XDF and BIN is of no importance to you. you'll only need the ADS/ADX.

being an 88, if it never got the MAF disable recall done, then yes, it would be $46 or perhaps $55. the MAF disable update changed them to $6D.

i don't have an ARCL BIN on-hand, but it was released 11/23/1988, so was likely used for 89 model year as well, which shouldn't have had a MAF from the factory, so 6D.

i'm certain i've built the ADS(which can be imported for use as an ADX with a fix applied) for that application already, i would have to look in my archive to see if it has been uploaded to the TP site already.




Return to “Performance Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests